## SCHOOL BOARD MEETING November 14, 2018

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on November 14, 2018 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Charlie Blixt, Dena Johnson, Michael Forsgren, Jon Karger, Anne Peterson, Kathy Ouren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Randi Anderson, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Rudy Martinez, Barb Ripley, Cary Haugrud, Lou Hoglund, Mark Masten, Sherri Larson, Bree Anderson, Linea Thomas, Heidi Moe, Dawn Finn, Suhuur Farah, Braden Henkes, Brittany Dokken.

The meeting was called to order by Charlie Blxit.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the agenda with the following additions: Elementary presentation

The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

5<sup>th</sup> grade students demonstrated what they are working on with their lpads with their teacher Sherri Larson.

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the regular meeting on October 15, 2018

Approve the Treasurer's report and financial claims

Accept donations:

To Viking Elementary – LREC/Jeans Day-September \$121

To ISD 548 - Bell Bank/Custon Cards-\$25

To Viking Elementary for milk breaks – Central Lutheran Church Women \$100

To Class of 79 scholarship – Rodney & Susan Simmons \$50

## Personnel:

Hire Manda Erickson as a long term sub para-11/2 to 12/21

Hire Marlys Ebersviller as a long term sub sounselor-1/2 to 2/7

Approve the Memorandum of Agreement with U of M-Crookston for 2018-19 for CIHS The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Jon Karger introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION CANVASSING RETURNS
OF VOTES OF SCHOOL DISTRICT GENERAL ELECTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 548, as follows:

1. It is hereby found, determined and declared that the general election of the voters of the district held on November 6, 2018, was in all respects duly and legally called and held.

2. As specified in the attached Abstract and Return of Votes Cast, a total of \_\_\_\_\_\_ voters of the district voted as said election on the election of (three) school board members for four year term vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the general election as follows:

Charlie Blixt 1207

Jessica Fahje 1335

Dena Johnson 1263

Brittany Dokken 1351

Greg Larson 1424

Brenda Olson 1391

3. Greg Larson, Brenda Olson, and Brittany Dokken, having received the highest number of votes, are elected to four year terms beginning the first Monday in January, 2019.

4. The school district clerk is hereby authorized to certify the results of the election to the county auditor of each county in which the school district is located in whole or in part.

The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Peterson, Karger, Blixt, Johnson, Forsgren, Ouren

And the following voted against: None

The resolution was adopted.

Charlie Blixt introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES
OF ELECTION AND DIRECTING SCHOOL DISTRICT CLERK
TO PERFORM OTHER ELECTION RELATED DUTIES

WHEREAS, the board has canvassed the general election for school board members held on November 6, 2018.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the School Board of Independent School District No. 548, State of Minnesota, as follows:

- 1. The chair and clerk are hereby authorized to execute certificates of election on behalf of the school board of Independent School District No. 548 to the following candidates:
  - a. Greg Larson
  - b. Brenda Olson
  - c. Brittany Dokken

who have received a sufficiently large number of votes to be elected to fill vacancies on the board caused by expiration of term on the first Monday in January next following the election, based on the results of the canvass.

- 2. The certificate of election shall be in substantially the form attached hereto.
- 3. After the time for contesting the election has passed and the candidate has filed all campaign financial reports required by Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 211A, the clerk of the school board is hereby directed to deliver the certificates to the persons entitled thereto personally or by certified mail.
- 4. The clerk is hereby directed to enclose with the certificate a form of acceptance of office and oath of office in substantially the form attached hereto.

The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Peterson, Karger, Blixt, Johnson, Forsgren, Ouren

And the following voted against: None

The resolution was adopted.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the resignation of Merilee Ottoson as ELL para effective 12/31/18. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 2<sup>nd</sup> reading of the following policies:

Policy 209 Code of Ethics

Policy 210 Conflict of Interest – School Board Members

Policy 213 School Board Committees

Policy 215 Student Representative to School Board

The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 1<sup>st</sup> reading of the following policies:

Policy 301 School District Administration

Policy 302 Superintendent

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> reading of the following policies:

Policy 303 Superintendent Selection

Policy 304 Superintendent Contract, Duties, and Evaluation

Policy 305 Policy Implementation

Policy 306 Administrator Code of Ethics The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Michael Forsgren moved to approve ADM's per the MARSS report for the 2019-20 budget revision. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to have a work session on Wednesday, December 12, at 6:30 pm to discuss the budget and the strategic plan. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the World's Best Work Force Plan and Achievement & Integration Summary as presented. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Charlie Blixt, Chair	Michael Forsgren, Clerk